Recipe number three involves making microwave shrimp tacos.

Yes, I know. This is the second shrimp recipe in a row. But I chose this recipe strategically because of the fact that I had leftover shrimp from the scampi. A key for cooking in a dorm: use the same ingredients for multiple dishes.

One good thing about this recipe is that it provides an opportunity to cook with fresh produce. For me, it was my first time slicing onion, avocado and cilantro.

GETTING STARTED:

One thing I learned when shopping for the ingredients to this recipe is that I am really unfamiliar with vegetables and produce. I’m so grateful for labels or the 20 minutes I spent wandering the isles of Safeway could have easily been an hour or two.

Sad fact: I didn’t know what an avocado looked like (I was ashamed at my lack of knowledge).

Corn -$ .89

Black Beans – $1.19

Olive Oil – $7.99

Flour Tortillas – $3.29

Avocado – $1.29

Limes -$ .50

Onion – $1.11

Cilantro -$ .69

Total Cost:  $16.95

* One ingredient that I chose not to get was the jalapeno pepper. I’m not a huge jalapeno person, but that’s just a personal preference.

The ingredient list calls for chopped cilantro leaves and sliced onion. I have never really had the chance to slice, dice or chop anything, so I was a little timid at first. Luckily the Internet is filled with great guides on how to chop both the onions and cilantro.

PREPARATION:

The preparation time was the one part of the dish that really snuck up on me. From the looks of the recipe it seems as though it only takes a few steps. What I failed to realize was just how much time chopping the onion, cilantro, and avocado would take. Once these things get done, you finally get to start on the actual recipe.

Another frustrating thing for me was that I had to keep up with two different dishes at one time. While I was in the process of making the mixture to go inside the tacos, I also had to worry about making the avocado spread to go with the dish.

FINISHED PRODUCT:

The dish came together without any major problems, which was nice. Overall, the taste wasn’t quite what I expected. The dish seemed to get overwhelmed with the lime flavor, which detracted from the shrimp taste.

Preparing the shrimp taco

I also started to regret not using the jalapeno peppers like the recipe calls for because they may have evened out the flavors. Teach me to not follow the recipe as strictly as I should have.

MY RATINGS:

Feasibility- A

The ingredients are affordable, which was very nice. Anyone can easily pull this recipe off for fewer than 20 dollars. Working with the healthier, fresh produce also adds some appeal to this recipe.

Preparation – C+

This has definitely been the most time-consuming recipe that I have dealt with so far. The time it took from the start until I had my tacos was an hour and twenty minutes!

Taste- B

I liked the taste that the avocado adds to the tacos, but I was overwhelmed by the lime juice in the dish. This was a dish that was great to try once, but I probably wouldn’t try to make it again.

Folding the finished taco

